Posts Tagged ‘book review’

Have you visited any Texas historical places? #TuesdayTea Review of REMEMBER TEXAS by Laura Conner Kestner

Tuesday, October 16th, 2018

Welcome to my #TuesdayTea review of an intriguing debut novel by Laura Conner Kestner. Isn’t the cover stunning? I completely enjoyed this visit to Moccasin Rock, Texas. The assorted characters are all so captivating. And following the journey of Caleb and Abby as they fall in love is fun and unpredictable.

REMEMBER TEXAS by Laura Conner Kestner

I’m serving POTATO Chip Cookies with warm spiced apple cider today….the cider because it’s autumn and you’ll find out why I’m offering POTATO chip cookies as you read Remember Texas. I’ll include my mother’s recipe for the cookies.

ABOUT REMEMBER TEXAS

Award-winning fiction. Abigail Horton’s life is turned upside down during the last night of a week-long revival when her father—believed dead—shows up in the custody of a Texas Ranger. Abby is thrilled to see him, and equally devastated to learn he’s been living the life of an outlaw. Texas Ranger Caleb Calhoun stops in Moccasin Rock to let his prisoner, Bob Horton, visit briefly with family before transporting him to Austin for trial. Caleb takes a room at the family’s boarding house, planning to be in and out of the small town by morning. But within hours he’s kissed Abby Horton, made an enemy of her naïve suitor, and let his prisoner escape. As Caleb searches for the missing outlaw, and Abby struggles to keep the man’s whereabouts a secret, they also battle a growing attraction to each other. Throw in a Calhoun family mystery, an elderly preacher on a mission, an old flame of Caleb’s, a secretive spinster, a team of surveyors, and Abby’s mother and brother—and you have a compelling story of faith, family and forgiveness.

MY REVIEW ON GOODREADS

Remember TexasRemember Texas by Laura Conner Kestner
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Remember Texas is such an engaging story! I loved it!

Romance and intrigue fill the pages of a fast-paced historical book set in early Texas. This book is an award winner, and I certainly understand why!

Caleb Calhoun is a Texas Ranger on a mission to bring an outlaw to justice when he meets Abigail Horton in tiny Moccasin Rock, Texas. The town setting, with its interesting assortment of townsfolk, invites you into a place of warm relationships, intricate family bonds and some dangerous elements. The tangles of the situations the various characters find themselves in are all so believable. The story moves along quickly with plenty of action and lots of questions about unusual events surrounding the area and its residents.

The hero’s actions caused my heart to warm as he falls for the reluctant heroine during some lovely romantic moments. I really enjoyed all the fascinating characters as they transformed during the course of the story, some from quite unlikeable individuals turning into delightful additions to the group.

I especially like the way the author brings all the intriguing details together by the end for a very satisfying conclusion, including a lovely proposal and beautiful epilogue. More stories by author Laura Conner Kestner are much anticipated! If you enjoy faith-filled historical romance, I believe you will be truly engaged with Remember Texas, a fun book to read!

Favorite quotes:

“I do believe that sometimes what people call coincidences are really part of God’s grander plan for us.”
“The words don’t have to be fancy, son. Just tell God what’s on your mind and in your heart.”

MEET AUTHOR LAURA CONNER KESTNER

You’d enjoy visiting Laura’s website for more information about her writing journey (including many awards) and some interesting historical tidbits about her home state of Texas. LAURA CONNER KESTNER’S WEBSITE

MOM’S POTATO CHIP COOKIE RECIPE

Mix together until combined:

1 cup shortening

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup sugar

Add:

2 beaten eggs

Sift together:

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

Then add to the sugar/egg mixture.

Then mix in:

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups crushed potato chips

6 oz. butterscotch chips

Drop drop dough by tablespoonful-sized scoops on to an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes at 350 degrees. Watch carefully so the cookies don’t burn. Enjoy!

 

Thank you for visiting with me today. May you be blessed with the treasure of encountering interesting places and books which bring the past alive.

 

Blessings and prayers always,

Sherida

*I appreciate comments. Your comment will appear after moderation. I apologize for delays.

Do you LOVE Christmas? Get ready for a ranch-style holiday with CHRISTMAS WITH THE COWBOY!

Tuesday, September 18th, 2018

Welcome to #TuesdayTea as we celebrate Christmas at Big Heart Ranch with the release of Christmas with the Cowboy by Tina Radcliffe!🎄 (Mass market available September 18 and Kindle available October 1.)

In honor of the newest Big Heart Ranch story, I’m serving Emma Maxwell Norman’s Chocolate Muffins with strong Arbuckle’s Ariosa cowboy coffee or a light peppermint tea. Please help yourself, as there’s plenty to go around.

Christmas with the Cowboy-Big Heart Ranch

From my earlier reviews of Tina Radcliffe’s Big Heart Ranch series, you know I love the children’s home setting for these books. And now with her newest release, Christmas with the Cowboy, I’m singing carols and baking goodies, all in preparation for our special holiday. In this treasured story, we’re celebrating a ranch-style Christmas at the Holiday Roundup!

ABOUT CHRISTMAS WITH THE COWBOY

Former navy SEAL Zach Norman has been avoiding his ranching roots—and the woman he couldn’t have. Back to visit his brother’s widow, Emma Maxwell Norman, and her adorable toddler twins, the bah-humbug cowboy is roped into helping prepare the ranch for the holidays. Working side by side, can Emma and Zach overcome their troubled past…and receive the greatest Christmas gift of all—love?

MY REVIEW

OH! OH! OH! THIS STORY IS SO GOOD!

Get ready for Christmas with this feel-good romance filled with the warm glow of the holiday spirit…children, snow and sparkling love.

What can I say? I loved EVERYTHING about Christmas with the Cowboy. Hero Zach Norman is amazing…*sigh*…my kind of quiet, self-sacrificing guy. As a single mom to twins, Emma Maxwell Norman is hardworking as she takes care of everyone with her organizational skills. The fast pace of getting the ranch ready for the Holiday Roundup keeps the couple busy as they learn to put the past in perspective and trust their feelings for each other.

Revisiting additional characters from previous books adds fun to the story. Lovable Dutch is a crusty, ol’ sweetheart. The two-year-old twins, Rachel and Elizabeth, are precious. The epilogue is Christmas perfection!

Author Tina Radcliffe knows how to make a reader laugh and cry as the conversations sparkle with humor and emotion. I want to spend Christmas at Big Heart Ranch enjoying cookies and chocolate muffins! This is definitely a story I didn’t want to end…and fortunately there will be another Big Heart Ranch book.

Favorite quote: “Big Heart Ranch is all about that. This is the place where we let go of our past. New beginnings. Like the birth of our Lord at Christmas.”

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. It is an honor to offer my honest opinion.

AUTHOR TINA RADCLIFFE

To get more information about one of my favorite authors, check out her website where you’ll find a place to order Christmas with the Cowboy and the precious books in the series, Claiming Her Cowboy and Falling for the Cowgirl. Also, I’d suggest signing up for her newsletters listed under the “Newsletters” tab. Time out with Tina is for readers, and the Writer’s Inside Edition has great information on publishing, contests and opportunities for writers.

TINA’S WEBSITE

TREATS

Please enjoy a muffin (these are SO good) and your choice of a mug of Arbuckle’s cowboy coffee or a cup of peppermint tea.

CHRISTMAS WITH THE COWBOY and chocolate muffins!

Of course we need a recipe for the chocolate deliciousness, so Tina has posted this recipe.

RECIPE FOR EMMA’S CHOCOLATE MUFFINS from Tina Radcliffe

Thank you for joining me for coffee or tea and MUFFINS! Even if it’s a bit early, I do wish you a Christmas filled with the warm glow of LOVE…a treasured blessing from God. ❤️

With blessings and prayers for you,

Sherida

*Your comments are appreciated and will be posted after moderation. I apologize for delays.

Can a woman do a cowboy’s job? #TuesdayTea

Tuesday, June 19th, 2018

Welcome to #TuesdayTea! I’m so glad you’ve stopped in because I’m reviewing the newest book by a favorite author, Tina Radcliffe, Falling for the Cowgirl.

Falling for the Cowgirl by Tina Radcliffe

Hold onto your saddle as you read Falling for the Cowgirl! You’ll find out if cowgirl AJ has what it takes to do a traditionally man’s job on my favorite ranch, Big Heart Ranch in Oklahoma.

AJ can also whip up yummy pies! So before I review this newest novel by Tina Radcliffe, take a slice of Three Berry Pie, fresh from the Timber Diner. I’ll pour you a cup of blackberry tea or a tall glass of iced tea with lemon if you prefer.

TRIPLE BERRY PIE-photo by Irina on Unsplash

BLURB

She won the job…

Can he win her heart?

Hiring Amanda “AJ” McAlester as his assistant at the Big Heart Ranch isn’t foreman Travis Maxwell’s first choice—but his sisters insist she’s perfect for the job. And AJ’s determined to prove she’s just as qualified as any man. But with money on the line, AJ and her innovative ideas could put him at risk of losing everything…including his heart.

My review of Falling for the Cowgirl by Tina Radcliffe

I LOVE this book….and everything about Big Heart Ranch!

While reading Falling for the Cowgirl, I laughed, I cried, and I delighted in every page!

At Big Heart Ranch, newly hired AJ McAlester finds working for her boss, foreman Travis Maxwell, to be challenging…in many ways. Watching these two strong-headed people clash provides for great entertainment as unexpected twists in their lives occur.

I like the strength AJ demonstrates as she strives to prove her abilities. I found grumpy Travis to be quite swoon-worthy as his true heart begins to shine. All the folks on the ranch are warm and welcoming, feeling like real friends, family and co-workers. The addition of various animals adds more feel-good fun to the story.

And what an inspiring place for the setting of this series! Big Heart Ranch is based on a real ranch that provides family-style homes for children who need second chances and plenty of love. Each book tugs at my heart.

Tina Radcliffe does sparky humor, tender romance and faith-weaving so well in all her novels. This story, with the touching surprises, just may be my favorite Tina Radcliffe book….and I’d love a slice of blackberry pie…and a pair of turquoise boots!

Favorite quote: “Love and the good Lord reign here.”

*I received a copy of this book from the author with no requirement to write a review. I’m delighted to offer my honest opinion about this story.

MY THOUGHTS

As I said in my review, I love the concept of Big Heart Ranch which offers hope and love to neglected children by using family-style homes. In the acknowledgements, Tina Radcliffe mentions her Big Heart Ranch was inspired by Big Oak Ranch, a home program for kids in Alabama.

Here in New Mexico is another organization helping children, Navajo Ministries. The children are grouped into three homes, each with a set of parents. Read more about the Navajo Ministries program HERE.

I’m grateful to those groups working to make life better for our children. I appreciate author Tina Radcliffe for bringing these efforts to our attention through her writing.

For more information about Tina Radcliffe, CLICK HERE. You can sign up for her fun newsletter and, if you’re a writer, don’t miss the “Inside Edition” tab where you can sign up for the (no-charge) writer information newsletter. I highly recommend both newsletters.

MY PRAYER FOR YOU

May you be touched by the treasured blessing of compassionate people, such as those who help suffering children and those who spread the word about these programs of God’s love in action.

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.
Proverbs 3:5-6 (KJV)

Thanks to Susan Snodgrass for creating this meme for Falling for the Cowgirl.

Blessings and prayers always,

Sherida Stewart

*Comments will appear after approval. I apologize for delays.

 

 

 

What’s your favorite summer activity? #TuesdayTea #Summer2018

Tuesday, June 12th, 2018

IT’S SUMMER!

Do you have a favorite thing to do when summer arrives? Something that really means summer to you? Summer seems to start a different routine. Swimming? Travel? Gardening? Hiking? How about relaxing and refreshing?

When our local farmers’s market opens, I feel like summer has truly begun since I can taste all the locally grown treats. I miss having my own veggie garden, so the stalls selling fresh produce delight my heart.

Look at the goodies I found at the first market of the season! The fresh salsa is perfect…with just the right amount of fire with New Mexico Chiles. Honey from Enchanted Bees, radishes, even New Mexico Sage soap!

Bounty from our local growers’ market!

Putting up some jars of apricot jam is on my summer schedule, along with a couple of short backpacking trips. Reading on our patio is planned for many warm afternoons.

Is reading on your summer to-do list?

Here’s a suggestion. Since some of my favorite romance authors released a collection of SUMMER cowboy novellas, I thought I’d share my review with you. So join me on the shaded patio with a glass of iced tea (sweetened with local honey from Enchanted Bees) while I tell you about this sweet romance collection.

COWBOYS OF SUMMER by Mary Connealy, Cheryl St, John, Tina Radcliffe, Missy Tippens, Lorna Seilstad and Sherri Shackelford

Cowboys of Summer-Kindle collection

What perfect romantic cowboy stories to enjoy during the summer!

I liked all these cute novellas by some favorite authors. Each one had great characters and fast pacing. I loved visiting the various communities with an emphasis on sweet summer romance…cowboy style.

Dr. Tess and the Cowboy by Mary Connealy

A fun-to-read story featuring enthusiastic paleontologist Tessa Rhoades searching for dinosaur bones on hard-working Joe Holt’s Nebraska ranch. His peace and quiet are disturbed by her exciting discovery. There is great entertainment as the couple must dig into their hearts to reveal their true passions.

Hometown Girl by Cheryl St. John

I always love a story with characters helping others, and Stevie Marshall is just such a woman as she helps teens through her garden market and 4-H activities. When her high school sweetheart, bull riding champion Justin Cooper, returns to town to help his father, summer fireworks flare. I enjoyed finding out if past regrets could be rectified to become something better for both of them.

Lake Effect by Tina Radcliffe

This is a fun story of leaving the past behind and forging ahead toward bright new beginnings. I enjoyed Jessica Richards’ experiences as she prepared to open Paradise Lake Bed and Breakfast. Rancher Tucker Jackson, with his work ethic and family priorities, is a strong hero. This summer visit to Paradise, Colorado, is filled with the beauty of the season and with plenty of friendly townsfolk to warm your heart.

His Lone Star Heart by Missy Tippens

Rancher Zeb West wants to buy his neighbor’s Double B Ranch, but the owner’s daughter, Beecher Brown, is hoping to keep her father’s ranch. To find true happiness, both face difficult struggles…Zeb to understand himself and Beecher to prove her abilities. I enjoyed the interesting conflict and the sweet romance. 

Great Strides by Lorna Seilstad

Lorna Seilstad is a new-to-me author. Since I’m a former special needs preschool teacher, Dana Etherton’s dream for her equine therapy ranch was of particular interest to me. I liked the second chance theme of hardworking Adam Malone’s situation. The pace of this story great, as is the perfect inclusion of small details…fragrance, color, and weather. I’ll definitely be reading more by this author.

The Decoy Bride by Sherri Shackelford

The trials of pretending to be someone else is a fun premise in this story. As an office assistant to a publicist, Paige Monroe is given a chance to try out being famous. During this experience, she meets rancher Sterling Tanner. It’s a wild ride as the two get to know each other and overcome their fears. “It had taken a brush with the very thing she feared to finally free her.” A laugh-out-loud sweet romance!

Five stars  ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ and highly recommended!

I hope you can fit some reading time into your summer days.

I pray you find some refreshment as you enjoy God’s treasured blessing of summer. Whatever you have planned, I pray it is fun, safe and filled with joy!

“I will refresh the weary and satisfy the faint.”

Jeremiah 31:25 (NIV)

Blessings,

Sherida

 

A February #TuesdayTea book review—A Seaside Romance by Patti Jo Moore

Tuesday, February 27th, 2018

As we approach the last day of February, I welcome you to my Tuesday Tea review of the contemporary love story, A Seaside Romance, by Patti Jo Moore.

The month of February is a time to appreciate the treasured blessings of all types of LOVE…family, friends, romantic, and the love of our Lord.

My mother painted these bears to represent our family when our sons were cubs. With love, our family now includes 2 DILs and 3 grandsweeties.

***     ***     ***     ***     ***     ***

Frosty mornings still greet me as February comes to a close. I’m anticipating spring, but warm days aren’t quite here yet. Reading stories can provide us with a virtual trip by transporting us to someplace different from our current place. A Seaside Romance is exactly this kind of book. Patti Jo Moore’s novel takes us to the charming beach town of Coastal Breeze, Florida……exactly what I need while waiting for the warmer days of spring.

TREATS

Since it’s still the month of love, I’m serving Valentine’s Day treats. Please help yourself to chocolate heart brownies or raspberry jam-filled Linzer heart cookies. I’ll pour you a cup of fruity raspberry tea. Now we’re ready to delve into A Seaside Romance!

Chocolate LOVE brownies

Raspberry jam-filled Linzer Heart cookies

MY REVIEW

A Seaside RomanceA Seaside Romance by Patti Jo Moore
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A sweet romance set in a charming beach town.

A Seaside Romance, by Patti Jo Moore, is a contemporary inspirational romance. Lovely Emma Hopkins is helping out at her aunt’s gift shop when she meets handsome traveling businessman Thomas Wilton. They both have secrets from their pasts which must be resolved before they can reach a romantic happily-ever-after.

Other interesting characters enliven the beachside village of Coastal Breeze, Florida, including compassionate Aunt Ginny, busybody Midge Weatherbee, and Thomas’ sister, Avril. I enjoyed the descriptions of the charming community and felt like I was shopping in the nautical themed gift shop featured in the story.

I especially liked the way prayer was realistically incorporated as a part of life, asking God for help and guidance. A great book for those who enjoy sweet romance!

Favorite quotes:
Yet what she could do was pray for strength to ignore those scars from the past, and also pray for strength and wisdom as she moved on with her life.

 

A BIT MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE AUTHOR

You might enjoy learning a bit more about author Patti Jo Moore and the inspiration for her newest book. Over at Laurie Wood’s blog, you can read a recent interview, however please note the giveaway has ended. Read the interview here.

As mentioned in the interview, Patti Jo has two more books to be released in her Emerald Coast Romances series set on the beautiful…and warm…Florida Gulf Coast. I’m looking forward to more sweet romances featuring this charming community. You can find Patti Jo’s Facebook page HERE.

BIBLE SCRIPTURE

Whoever pursues righteousness and love finds life, prosperity and honor.

Proverbs 21 (NIV)

 

PRAYER

I pray you are surrounded by the treasured blessings of love …in an ever-increasing circle.

THANK YOU for joining me for Tuesday Tea! (The heart card above was created by one of my grandsweeties. All grandsweeties are treasured blessings of love!)

With blessings and love,

Sherida

#TuesdayTea review-Claiming Her Cowboy by Tina Radcliffe

Wednesday, January 10th, 2018

Welcome to my (just a tiny bit late) #TuesdayTea review of Claiming Her Cowboy by a favorite author, Tina Radcliffe. I’m so excited about this new series featuring Big Heart Ranch, a home for orphaned or abandoned children who need love and second chances. The staff, the kids, and the ranch setting….not to mention the romance….all make you feel good about the world. A heart-warming story!

Claiming Her Cowboy by Tina Radcliffe

MY REVIEW

Claiming Her Cowboy: Big Heart Ranch Book 1Claiming Her Cowboy: Big Heart Ranch Book 1 by Tina Radcliffe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I LOVE this heart-touching story where Plan B can turn out to be the best!
What a wonderful romance of two strong-willed and caring people changing their own plans as necessary to help children! Author Tina Radcliffe’s new series centers around Big Heart Ranch in Oklahoma. It is an amazing place, filled with foster children who need hope and a loving family environment. The ranch mission statement is perfect: “Faith, hope and love. Faith in God, hope for tomorrow, and unconditional love.”
Having been in foster homes themselves, Lucy Maxwell and her siblings opened the ranch to give suffering children an opportunity to grow up in loving, family-like situations. Attorney Jackson Harris is tasked by his benefactor aunt to assess the financial needs of the ranch organization. The professional relationship between Jack and Lucy gets complicated when each individual wants to follow their own different plans. But when precious five-year-old Dub climbs into both their hearts, along with his two sisters, life gets even more complicated…in such a heartfelt way.
I love the assorted characters in this book, all the sweet children, and the reason for establishing Big Heart Ranch. As prickly Lucy and stern Jack learn to soften because of a set of triplets….and learn to trust each other…a beautiful story unfolds. This is the first book in a much-anticipated new series by inspirational author Tina Radcliffe. This story, along with its dedication page where the author mentions the inspiration for this series, will touch your heart!

Favorite quotes:
“Jack, it’s about planting seeds. Sometimes you can’t see the harvest. You have to trust that by doing what you are called to do, what this ranch is called to do, the harvest will be there.”
“I know God is listening. Sometimes things don’t happen when we think they should, but He always hears our prayers.”

*I received a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m honored to provide my honest opinion of the story.

 

TREATS

Since this book is filled with sweet kiddos, I’m serving sweet cupcakes and sweet lattes today. Doesn’t everyone love cupcakes?

Cupcakes and lattes!

QUOTE FROM CLAIMING HER COWBOY

”First Corinthians thirteen. Faith, hope and love. Faith in God, hope for tomorrow, and unconditional love.”

This is the mission statement for Big Heart Ranch. Perfect!

Thanks for stopping by for a quick book chat and a virtual treat. May your life be filled with God’s treasured blessings of faith, hope and love.

Blessings,

Sherida

#TuesdayTea Review of A ROSE SO FAIR by @MyraJohnson with a #giveaway!

Tuesday, May 9th, 2017

#TuesdayTea with A ROSE SO FAIR by Myra Johnson

Welcome to Tuesday Tea and our chat with author Myra Johnson about her newest release, A Rose So Fair. This third book in the Flowers of Eden series by Myra Johnson is an inspirational romance set during the Great Depression. The reader experiences the difficulties encountered as people struggled with economic challenges. If you’d like to enter the giveaway for a Kindle ebook, please make a comment and complete the Rafflecopter entry form at the end of this post.

For me, the story recalled my grandmother’s snippets of her life during that time….the failing of my grandparents’ hardware store, food given to hobos passing by, my grandfather scrambling for odd jobs, and the “making do” with simple things as was necessary. I admired Rose Linwood, a heroine so typical of the strong women who carried on during those trying situations. Caleb Wieland is a great hero, persistent and loving. The story is filled with strong faith and courageous characters…as was required for life during that period of history.

Chatting with author Myra Johnson:

Myra kindly answered my questions about the inspiration for her book, her writing experiences, and one of the ways God has touched her life. Thank you so much, Myra, for joining us to talk about your newest inspiration romance novel!

SHERIDA: How did you get the glimmer of the idea for A Rose So Fair?

MYRA: The idea first began to form a few years ago as I was finishing up my Till We Meet Again series. The editor I had been working with expressed interest in a Depression-era series, so I started brainstorming. Already familiar with the Arkansas setting, I began there. While perusing research materials, I soon found myself homing in on the hardships farmers endured during the Depression. I began imagining three sisters and what their individual personalities would be, and so the Linwood sisters, the “Flowers of Eden,” began to take shape in my mind. Rose, the youngest, developed her own kind of spunk and determination, and she was certainly both challenging and enjoyable to write about.

SHERIDA: What do you do to keep the sparkle while you are writing?

MYRA: I’ve developed a fairly consistent writing routine. Weekday mornings are set aside for the “busy work” of writing—social media, marketing, recordkeeping, blogging, etc. So after lunch, my mind is freed from obsessing over those kinds of tasks, and I can concentrate on the book. I’ll usually reread the last scene or two from the previous writing session and do minor editing. This gets me back into the flow of the story and helps to sparks ideas for what will happen next. I work in Scrivener, which allows me to pin character photos to a sidebar, and glancing at the images from time to time helps me stay grounded in the characters’ mind and voice.

SHERIDA: Beyond family, friends and your writing career, what jewel of a moment has God placed in your path during your life’s journey that you would share with us?

MYRA: When I think about “jewel” moments, it’s hard to come up with just one, and most of them would include animals and nature. I remember one in particular when my husband and I were enjoying lunch and quiet conversation in our screen porch a few summers ago. Our home is surrounded by trees, and suddenly a barred owl flew in and landed on a branch right outside the porch, not even ten feet away. He sat there staring at us and our two dogs for a long time, almost as if he were trying to decide if Gracie, our 90-pound Lab mix, would be too big to carry off as “lunch.” Since then, we’ve heard many owls hooting in the distance but have never enjoyed another up-close-and-personal encounter like that one. It was very special.

A ROSE SO FAIR by Myra Johnson

ABOUT A ROSE SO FAIR

Plucky Rose Linwood grew up on her grandfather’s Arkansas tenant farm, a life her two older sisters never cared much for. Working alongside her grandpa, though, Rose learned to love the land as much as he did. Now her sisters have married and moved on, Grandpa has gone to his eternal reward, and Rose is determined to make a go of the farm on her own. But crops have been slow to recover since the drought of 1930-31, and the whole country struggles in the grip of the Great Depression. Drifters looking for work or handouts roam the countryside, some of them up to no good, so Rose keeps her trusty Winchester rifle at the ready. Caleb Wieland, Rose’s best friend, isn’t the farmer his late father was, and he’s about to lose his cotton crop to boll weevils. He’d let the farm go and search for work he’s more suited to, except he can’t desert his widowed mother. Besides, he’s been quietly falling in love with Rose since they were in grammar school, and the thought of leaving her behind is too much to bear. He’d give anything to win her heart, but Rose’s stubborn independence is proving as thorny as the flower for which she’s named.

MY REVIEW

A Rose So FairA Rose So Fair by Myra Johnson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A Rose So Fair is a gripping and heart-touching story!

This book truly brings to life the difficult days of the Great Depression, where daunting problems arose to test people’s fortitude, but also helped reveal the strength of faith and the ability to overcome trials with the help of others.

I admired Rose Linwood with her fierce loyalty to her grandfather’s farm and the dream she shared with him. She singlehandedly struggles to raise a cotton crop in order to satisfy the requirements of the leased property. Caleb Weiland is a great protective and persistent hero. He is torn between his financial responsibilities and his desire to have his love accepted by Rose. Both of them go through extremely difficult situations. I wasn’t sure how their differences and problems could be resolved since they were both such strong people, but after many emotional hills and valleys, the end is beautiful…sweet and satisfying.

I also enjoyed the other members of the family, including the two older sisters whose earlier stories evolve in this third book. Both drifter Quimby and the stray dog, Delano, add to the impact of the book. All the folks of Eden, Arkansas, felt so real.

The romantic tension is sweet, the thread of faith is comforting, and the message is thoughtful. With friends and family, along with trust in God, we are stronger together. I deeply enjoyed this book with its portrayal of life in the 1930’s with love, faith, and strength overcoming difficulties. I highly recommend A Rose So Fair.

Favorite quotes:
“No matter how far away they send me, you’ll always have my heart.”
“God doesn’t want or expect us to carry our burdens alone.”
She said it reminded her nobody’s perfect, and that loving someone takes a whole heap of forgiveness.

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a positive review. I’m honored to offer my honest opinion of this book.

TEA TREAT

Grandmother’s Sour Cream Pound Cake

In the story, Rose has tea and pound cake served by Mrs.O’Neill. As I mentioned earlier, I heard about the Depression from my grandmother who had a recipe for a sour cream version of pound cake. I’m sharing this with you today. Please help yourself to a couple of slices while I pour you a cup of tea.

Sour Cream Pound Cake

1 cup sugar

1 cup sour cream

1 egg

1 1/4 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

Blend sugar, sour cream, and eggs together. Add flour and baking soda and mix. Divide batter into two greased mini-loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes.

BIBLE VERSE

And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.     Ecclesiastes 4:12 (KJV)

PRAYER

Dear Lord,

We are grateful for the abilities You have given authors like Myra Johnson. They bless us with their talent, giving us inspiration and hope as we read their words. Please continue to bless Myra Johnson as she writes to reach readers with Your message that strength comes from trusting You and working to uplift others.

We ask this in Jesus’ name, Amen.

~~~

Visit Myra at Myra Johnson’s website and consider signing up for her newsletter. In addition, writers will find craft information and fellowship at the Seekerville website where Myra is one of the amazing Seekers, blessing writers with great encouragement. Visit SEEKERVILLE!

~~~

Thank you for joining us for Tuesday Tea. May your life be filled with the treasured blessing of strength through working together with others.

~~~Sherida

GIVEAWAY

If you’d like to be entered in the giveaway for a Kindle ebook of A Rose So Fair, please make a comment and complete the Rafflecopter entry form. Don’t be concerned if you don’t see your comment immediately. I moderate comments and with my busy schedule, it may take awhile for your comment to appear. Check back next week to see if you are the winner. Thank you!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

#TuesdayTea review of Second Chance Romance by @JillWeatherholt

Tuesday, March 28th, 2017

I’m so happy to have you visit for my review of Second Chance Romance by Jill Weatherholt. This is a heart-touching story offering hope and healing with a second chance for happiness.

ABOUT SECOND CHANCE ROMANCE

Small-Town Daddy 

Jackson Daughtry’s jobs as a paramedic and part-owner of a local café keep him busy—but the single dad’s number one priority is raising his little girl with love and small-town values. And when his business partner’s hotshot lawyer niece comes to town planning to disrupt their lives by moving her aunt away, Jackson has to set Melanie Harper straight. When circumstances force them to work side by side in the coffee shop, Jackson slowly discovers what put the sadness in Melanie’s pretty brown eyes. Now it’ll take all his faith—and a hopeful five-year-old—to show the city gal that she’s already home.

MY REVIEW

Second Chance RomanceSecond Chance Romance by Jill Weatherholt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A great story of a second chance for a happily-ever-after…for two!

Second Chance Romance, by Jill Weatherholt, is a strong story of overcoming devastating sorrow with the help of faithful family members, new friends and a charming five-year-old girl.

I felt deeply for Melanie Harper who suffered a devastating loss and struggles to move on with her life. Jackson Daughtry and his daughter are the people God uses to rescue Melanie. Jackson is an exemplary hero…protective of those he holds dear. Jackson’s adorable daughter, Rebecca, is so joyous with her exuberance, positive attitude and freely-expressed love for others. The characters touched my heart as they worked through issues of trust and fear. I love the small mountain town of Sweet Gum, Virginia, located in the Shenandoah Valley, as it is brought to life by the townsfolk who help each other during difficulties. I’m ready to stop in at
The Bean Cafe for one of Phoebe’s brownies and a large portion of “happiness in a glass.”

This is a feel-good story filled with sweet romance and the blessing of love which provides hope for the future.

Favorite quotes:
“… the power of prayer is unstoppable. Nothing is ever wasted when you share it with Him.”
“Daddy says God is in control. He knows what’s best for us.”

TREATS

The Bean Cafe of Sweet Gum is co-owned by hero Jackson and Melanie’s aunt. Along with good coffee, The Bean serves huge brownies made by Aunt Phoebe, so help yourself to a big chocolate chip and nut-filled goodie.

BIBLE VERSE

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

PRAYER

Dear Lord,

Please bless Jill Weatherholt’s writing career. She brings refreshing hope and comfort through her words. May her message reach many readers and touch those with hurting hearts.

We ask this is Jesus’ name, Amen

***

Thank you, dear readers, for stopping by for a moment to chat about a sweet inspirational romance book by debut author Jill Weatherholt. May you enjoy God’s treasured blessing of hope and happiness.

~Sherida Stewart

#TuesdayTea with #COFFEE and Rocky Mountain Cowboy

Tuesday, January 24th, 2017

 

Rocky Mountain Cowboy by Tina Radcliffe

Welcome to my Tuesday TEA …make that COFFEE blog. (In just a bit, I’ll explain about the switch in drinks.) We’re chatting about Tina Radcliffe’s newest Love Inspired book, Rocky Mountain Cowboy. To enjoy with the coffee, I brought blueberry muffins from Patti Jo’s Café and Bakery….Rocky Mountain Cowboy hero Joe Gallagher’s favorite.

Not only is Tina Radcliffe an amazing author, she is also the queen of coffee. Caffeine fuels her production of quality inspirational romance stories, so I’m pouring large mugs of quality Seattle coffee in Tina’s honor. I was fortunate to read Rocky Mountain Cowboy as I flew to Seattle to visit family. When I arrived, I savored amazing coffee selections from the City of Caffeine. Seattle knows how to roast coffee! Now on to this amazing book….with a personal note at the end of the review.

MY REVIEW

Rocky Mountain CowboyRocky Mountain Cowboy by Tina Radcliffe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What an excellent romance…..set in Paradise Valley, Colorado!

I simply LOVED Rocky Mountain Cowboy, a perfect romance of forgiveness and second chances…of putting the past behind. I smiled from the first page until the end, delighting in all the characters who sparkled with heart-felt emotion. What a treat to spend time with therapist Rebecca and cowboy Joe on his ranch in Paradise Valley, Colorado. Through this book, I experienced life on the beautiful Gallagher Ranch while Rebecca helps Joe adapt to a different routine using his new prosthetic hand. Joe’s gentle encouragement helps Rebecca move beyond her complex past. I particularly delighted in the engaging conversations between the characters. Tina Radcliffe, one of my favorite authors, knows how to write fast-paced, engaging dialogue…some witty and some quite touching. The various friends and family members were fun additions, as well as the mention of treats from Patti Jo’s Cafe and Bakery. Life just can’t get any sweeter than a romance in beautiful Paradise Valley!

Favorite quotes:
“Not worried. I’ve tried to banish that word from my vocabulary and turn things over to God.”
“You can’t be afraid to ask for help and you can’t be afraid to accept it.”
“The Lord brought you back here for a reason, Rebecca. Don’t throw away your second chance.”

*I was given a copy of this book. I’m delighted to provide my honest review.

PERSONAL NOTE

In this book, hero Joe Gallagher is an amputee adjusting to his prosthetic hand. Author Tina Radcliffe presents this situation very realistically. My father, a forward observer in the Army during World War II, was injured during fighting in Europe and was captured by the German Army. While he was a prisoner of war, his left leg was amputated. He was twenty years old at the time, so he spent most of his life with an artificial leg. As his daughter, I saw the various improvements in the technology of prosthetics to help amputees live active lives. As Tina reflects in Rocky Mountain Cowboy, amputees are not defined by their injuries, but by the lives they live. Though Rocky Mountain Cowboy is based on valuable research dealing with the situation of losing a limb, Tina’s story really focuses on the romance between the hero and heroine. I’m thankful for authors who include disabled characters in their books. My father was not defined by his amputation, but by the very loving and faith-filled life he enjoyed for 92 years.

TREATS
To celebrate Tina and her book, I’m serving large mugs of coffee today instead of our usual tea. Our sons know my husband and I enjoy coffee as well as tea, so take a look at these intriguing coffees we received as gifts from our sons and their families.

Bean Box coffee

Our older son introduced us to Bean Box Coffee which provides a selection of coffees from various Seattle roasters. If you’re interest in trying some special coffee, check out this link:  BEAN BOX

Our younger son traveled to Nicaragua a couple of times as part of a health mission with H.O.L.A. He enjoyed the coffee grown in that country and gave us a bag of Vermont roasted and Nicaraguan grown coffee.

Coffee from Nicaragua and roasted in Vermont

AUTHOR TINA RADCLIFFE

Get to know Tina at her website:  TINA RADCLIFFE  (TIP: sign up for her newsletter)

For writers of all levels, she contributes to the Seekerville blog:  SEEKERVILLE     (I highly recommend you stop by for a visit. Readers have fun as well.)

BIBLE VERSE

Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.   Isaiah 43:18-19 (KJV)

PRAYER

Dear Lord,

Today we lift up author Tina Radcliffe. Thank you for blessing her with amazing talent as a writer of inspiring stories filled the message of Your grace. She blesses others as she encourages other writers with uplifting advice. Please continue to grant her great success in all areas of her life.

We ask this in Jesus’ name, Amen.

Thank you for joining me for coffee today as we talked about Rocky Mountain Cowboy. I hope you enjoy the book and another visit to Paradise, Colorado, as much as I did. Do you have a drink of choice at Starbucks? Or do you have another favorite coffee? Please leave a comment. I’ll end with a couple of photos of beautiful Seattle.

May your life be filled with God’s treasured blessings.

Sherida

View as we flew into Seattle.

Mount Rainier glowing in the afternoon sun.

#TuesdayTea review of HOME on the RANGE by @RuthLoganHerne

Tuesday, October 25th, 2016
Maple bar and HOME on the RANGE

Maple bar and HOME on the RANGE at the Cle Elum Bakery in Cle Elum, Washington.

Welcome to my celebration of the release of Ruth Logan Herne’s newest….and very awesome…..book, Home on the Range.

GIVEAWAY HAS ENDED…….LAURA WON……Congratulations! Thank you, Ruth Logan Herne! 🙂

THIS JUST IN! GIVEAWAY!!!!!! Ruth Logan Herne is offering a giveaway of her book!!! So you can be contacted, leave a comment below with your email (use AT and DOT to avoid spam)–standard rules apply. US addresses only. Name will be picked from a hat….really! Must comment by noon on Wednesday, October 26 MDT. Thanks!!!

We’re meeting today at the charming bakery in Cle Elum, Washington, which serves delicious maple bars…along with many sumptuous treats. So make a selection from their bakery case….yes, I know how difficult it is to choose…then grab a mug of coffee or tea and come sit awhile as we chat about Home on the Range.

So many treats!

Hard decisions with so many treats!

ABOUT HOME ON THE RANGE

Can the brother left behind and a woman without hope work together for the good of two precious children?

Nick Stafford stayed in central Washington, working his family’s large ranch after his brothers left to pursue other passions—but his toughest job is being a single dad. As a child he watched his father fail at marriage and parenting, so Nick was determined to show him up. He’d be a better husband, father, and ranch manager than Sam Stafford ever was. Despite that commitment, three years after Nick’s wife left him, he has a daughter in trouble at school and both of his girls are facing issues that force him to rethink his stubborn plans.

For Dr. Elsa Andreas, life fell apart when tragedy caused her to abandon her family therapy practice and retreat to the backwoods of Gray’s Glen. Her school principal sister believes Elsa can guide the Stafford girls and that working with kids will draw Elsa out of her protective bubble.

Summer on the Double S teems with life and adventure. Amid the bounty of God and land, will Nick and Elsa find the courage to build futures based on faith rather than fear?

MY REVIEW

Home on the RangeHome on the Range by Ruth Logan Herne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A story of healing encouraged by the love and support of a strong family!

My heart smiled at the precious children and adorable puppies in this story….not to mention the cowboys and beautiful scenery of central Washington. Home on the Range is the second book in the Double S Ranch series, featuring the dysfunctional Stafford family. Colt and Angelina, the characters in the first book, Back in the Saddle, were engaging, drawing me into this second book about the lives of Elsa, Nick, and his two young daughters.

I was emotionally touched by the painful childhood suffering caused by self-centered adults and by Elsa’s emotional upheaval caused by self-doubt. Thankfully author Ruth Logan Herne weaves a thread of compassion and hope as the characters heal from the past with the wisdom and kindness of others. The developing romance between Elsa and Nick is so tender….with some mighty sweet kissing scenes….but faces some issues with trust and forgiveness. This is a story of flawed people who make mistakes, but are healed through love and the support of others.

I loved this book! Ruth Logan Herne writes amazing books filled with the love shown in strong families, with the redemption granted by second chances, and with the grace provided by faith. If you enjoy a sweet romance and being immersed in a modern-day family story of healing and hope, I highly recommend Home on the Range.

Favorite quotes:
“Maybe people didn’t get to choose what experiences molded and melded them into contributing members of society, but they did get to choose how to handle those experiences.”
“It means that embracing the joys in life is healthier than letting the sorrows drag us down. If we can learn to shrug off our frailties and foibles, the world becomes a much better place.”

*I received a complimentary copy of this book. I’m honored to write an honest review.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Author Ruth Logan Herne has more than a million books in print. Ruth is a founding member of SEEKERVILLE, a popular writing collective blog. A country girl who loves the big city, Ruth and her husband live on a farm in upstate New York.

Home on the Range received a TOP PICK 4 1/2 star review from Romantic Times Review….(very impressive!) You can read that review and sign up for her newsletter…and find out more about her other wonderful books at her website by clicking: RUTH LOGAN HERNE WEBSITE

BIBLE SCRIPTURE

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. Isaiah 41:10 (KJV)

PRAYER

Dear Lord,

Thank you for the amazing talent You have given author Ruth Logan Herne…both her writing abilities and her spirit of service. Her heart-felt stories and compassionate actions touch so many, giving hope and comfort to hurting souls.

Please continue to bless all her efforts and the work of all Christian authors as they spread the message of Your Word through their writing.

We ask this in Jesus’ name, Amen

TREATS

The characters in the Double S Ranch series mention enjoying maple bars from a nearby bakery. As heroine Elsa says, “Add in a trip to Cle Elum for maple bars, and I’m all in.” (page 222) Since we recently drove through beautiful central Washington to visit our grandsweeties in Seattle, we just had to make a stop at the Cle Elum Bakery where we sampled many of their baked goods. (I’m embarrassed to tell you how many we HAD to try, but I’ll just say…I’m still exercising those bites away…but SO worth every crumb.) I’ll leave you with pictures of a few of the treats we sampled during our two stops….coming and going….at this charming shop, along with some of central Washington’s scenery.

Cle Elum Bakery on Main Street.

The charming Cle Elum Bakery on Main Street.

Bakery selection board. We bought Dutch Crunch bread....yum!

Bakery selection board. We bought Dutch Crunch bread….yum!

Candied fruit bakery treat

Candied fruit bakery treat….taste of Christmas!

Crunchy maple twist...mmmm!

Crunchy maple twist…mmmm!

Coffee or tea for you?

Coffee or tea for you?

Fields of central Washington with mountains in the distance.

Fields of central Washington with mountains in the distance.

Love this old barn....and this beautiful story.

Love this old barn….and this beautiful story.

Thank you for joining me for #TuesdayTea! May your life be touched by God’s treasured blessing of healing!

With warm blessings,

Sherida