Posts Tagged ‘book review’

My #TeaTime #review of Sabotaged Mission by Tina Radcliffe!

Tuesday, July 26th, 2022

I’m thrilled to introduce you to the newest book by an amazing author. Known as an award-winning and bestselling contemporary romance author, Tina Radcliffe just released her first Love Inspired Suspense Inspirational Romance novel, Sabotaged Mission.

ABOUT SABOTAGED MISSION

Framed and on the run….With nowhere left to hide

When a failed mission leaves CIA operative MacKenzie “Mac” Sharp injured and her partner presumed dead, going off-grid is the only way to survive. But her old flame, CIA officer Gabe Denton has tracked her down and led a well-connected enemy right to her door. Now with someone trying to frame and kill her, working with Gabe is the only way to clear her name…and stay alive.

TEA TREAT-BANANA BREAD FROM MY MOTHER’S RECIPE

There is a softening moment in the story when Mac thinks of a sweet memory. “She remembered that Gabe once brought her banana bread he’d made. How odd that she should recall that right now.” For our treat today, banana bread seems like the perfect accompaniment with this review. Please help yourself to a slice of my mother’s famous banana bread! I’ll pour you a cup of tea…or coffee if you prefer.

MY REVIEW

Uplifting suspense! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Romance, suspense and faith…..what a combination!

Sabotaged Mission is definitely a page-turner, starting with a heart-pounding explosion at the very beginning and continuing with danger all along the way. As MacKenzie Sharp heals from an injury suffered during a failed CIA mission, her life is continually threatened. While being protected by her former boyfriend, Gabe Denton, a by-the-books CIA operative, she tries to figure out what went wrong with her last assignment. Why is she being framed for the incident? How is Gabe involved in her current situation?

Riveting action and a sweet rekindled romance held my interest as I tried to figure out the bad guy…among many possibilities and a few twists. In other books by Tina Radcliffe, I’ve enjoyed the lively and humorous banter between characters. Fortunately even in a suspense, she delivers her trademark sparkling comments. “Why didn’t you tell me I look like a home-improvement project gone bad?” And watch for the ready bag comment. “I’ve been doing it all wrong. Mine has extra socks.” Yes, I laughed out loud! Gotta love a hero like Gabe!

Sabotaged Mission is highly recommended for readers of romantic suspense who want an uplifting story. The faith elements, which highlight messages of forgiveness and trust, refresh the spirit.

Favorite quotes: 

“If you can make it through the hard times, the good times will be all the sweeter.”

“I’ll improvise and pray.”

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m delighted to offer my honest opinion.

ABOUT TINA RADCLIFFE

An award-winning author who writes engaging books, Tina encourages readers and writers through her newsletters and the sharing of writing information. To order her many books and to learn more about this generous and faith-filled author, please visit her website: http://www.tinaradcliffe.com

SCRIPTURE

But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

~~Isaiah 40:31

MY MOTHER’S RECIPE FOR BANANA BREAD

1/2 cup shortening

1 cup sugar

1 egg, beaten

3 ripe bananas, mashed

2 cups flour

1 teas. baking soda

1/2 teas. baking powder

pinch of salt

1 teas. vanilla

1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Cream sugar and shortening. Add egg and mashed bananas. Mix in dry ingredients until throughly blended. Add vanilla and nuts. Bake in a greased, 9″ x 5″ pan at 350 degrees for about one hour or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. If the bread starts to brown too quickly, put a sheet of foil over the top until finished baking. Let cool before removing from the pan.

Thank you for joining me for banana bread and my review of Sabotaged Mission. I pray your life is going well and you have special plans for the remainder of the summer.

With blessings,

Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation. I apologize for delays in posting.

My #teatime review of MERCIFUL SECRECY by Ruth Logan Herne.

Wednesday, June 8th, 2022

Do you like mystery/suspense books….with uplifting characters? A favorite inspirational author, Ruth Logan Herne, has written a superb story with all the intrigue of a mystery, all the danger of a suspense and all the encouragement of faith. I loved Merciful Secrecy! While you read my review, please settle in with a cup of tea or coffee….and a delicious dessert croissant. (Ruthy includes the recipe at the end of the book.)

MY REVIEW OF MERCIFUL SECRECY

An entertaining and heart-touching mystery! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

As an excellent addition to the Miracles and Mysteries of Mercy Hospital series, Merciful Secrecy takes us back to Charleston where four sleuthing friends provide their skills to protect a young nurse at Mercy Hospital who is being stalked by a stranger.

I was completely engaged in this story. The main characters are such fun, each with distinctive, compassionate personalities, as they work to determine who is threatening the emergency room nurse. With intriguing flashbacks, the details of past events are slowly revealed adding  questions to what is currently happening at the hospital. Excitement, danger and twists kept me turning the pages. The heartfelt emotions had me reaching for tissues a few times. I highly recommend this mystery book for its touching message of dedication, friendship, family and self-sacrifice. 

Favorite quotes:

A busy hospital housed lots of folks in need of prayer. The Angel of Mercy (statue) was the perfect reminder that God lives and loves. Even in the darkest hours.

“We pray and we let God do what God’s best at doing—fixing things.”

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m honored to offer my honest opinion.

ABOUT MERCIFUL SECRECY

“Anne Mabry loves her volunteer work at Mercy Hospital, and she loves the relationship she’s been able to form with the staff. So when she learns that nurse Katie McNamara is unsettled by a strange sequence of events, Anne can’t help but wonder if someone is threatening her. When Anne later meets Katie’s grandfather, a retired Atlanta detective, and learns that Katie was adopted after her father testified against the mob, Anne and her friends set out to make sure the young woman is not in any true danger.

When Anne sees a suspicious man hanging around the hospital, she wonders if he’s waiting for Katie, or perhaps her doppelganger, Kitty Sue. Could there be more of a connection between these women than just their physical appearance? Is something sinister afoot at Mercy Hospital? And can Anne and her friends solve the mystery in time for an Easter celebration to remember?” (From the back-cover)

ABOUT RUTH LOGAN HERNE

Ruthy is a multi-published, award-winning writer of inspirational stories who lives on a pumpkin farm in upstate New York. Her books feature small towns, lovable characters and challenging situations….all infused with faith. To learn more about this amazing author, please visit her website: http://www.RuthLoganHerne.com. Merciful Secrecy is available at: http://www.guideposts.org.

Are you a fan of mystery books? Do you have a stack of TBR books for this summer? Thank you so much for visiting my blog!


With blessings and prayers for an enjoyable summer of reading,

Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation.

A #Teatime review of The Rancher’s Family Legacy by Myra Johnson

Tuesday, May 24th, 2022

Welcome to my review of Myra Johnson’s The Rancher’s Family Legacy, the third book in her Ranchers of Gabriel Bend series.

ABOUT THE RANCHER’S FAMILY LEGACY

A future he didn’t want….

Could become the family he needs.

Building contractor Mark Caldwell is ready to inherit his grandfather’s horse ranch and put his traumatic past behind him—if he can survive working in Texas Hill Country for a year. But when his dog bonds with local caterer Holly Elliot’s son, Mark can’t refuse Holly’s request to be her son’s mentor. Can they put aside their differences long enough to open their hearts?

MY THOUGHTS

An amazing story of family strength and love! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Of the three friends establishing the River Bend Events and Wedding Chapel, Holly Elliot is the extraordinary caterer for the group. Much of her focus is directed at keeping her young, epileptic son safe. When building contractor Mark Caldwell shows up because of a stipulation in his grandfather’s will, sparks fly between the two, especially because of the attachment between Mark, his dog and Holly’s son. Emotions flare because of different personalities and some misunderstandings. Because of past heartbreaks, a great deal of healing is necessary before the couple can move forward.

I love how author Myra Johnson has woven the complex family dynamics into all three Ranchers of Gabriel Bend books, each revealing part of the feud which has caused difficulties. With love and faith, this endearing family strives to overcome the past hurts. I’ve enjoyed all the books in the series, and I’m sorry to say goodbye to this community of small town values. But I can now imagine these sweet characters continuing on with their lives, giving back to the town and supporting both extended families. I highly recommend this romance for its uplifting, feel-good emotions of faith and strong family bonds. And if you know me, the tearoom concept is definitely “my cup of tea.” 

Favorite quotes:

“Life never goes quite as planned…..I try hard not to question God, but I do wonder why He lets some things happen….or doesn’t.”

“But knowing God cares, that He’s always with me, even in the pain, and even when I can’t feel His presence—it’s where I find the strength to face each day. It’s how I find gratitude for the good in my life right now.”

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m delighted to offer my honest opinion.

ABOUT AUTHOR MYRA JOHNSON

Myra writes inspiration romance from her home in Texas Hill Country where she enjoys the beautiful bluebells of the region during the spring. To learn more about Myra and her books, please check out her website: http://www.myrajohnson.com

SCRIPTURE

This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

~~Psalm 118:24 (KJV)

TEATIME TREAT RECIPE—BISCOCHITOS

This is my mother-in-law’s recipe. She was an amazing cook, especially in the cookie and pie departments.

1/2 cup solid butter flavored shortening or margarine

2/3 cup sugar

1-1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. anise seed

1/2 tsp. salt

1 egg

1 tbsp. orange juice

cinnamon sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream together shortening and sugar.
  3. Add flour, anise seed, baking powder and salt.
  4. Combine egg and orange juice, then beat into mixture a little at a time. (Dough should be moist but workable.)
  5. Form into a long roll, wrap in plastic and let cool in the refrigerator.
  6. Slice into 1/4 inch thick rounds.
  7. Pat each cookie on one side with cinnamon sugar and place (unsugared side down) on a parchment paper covered cookie sheet.
  8. Bake 8 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

I’m glad you stopped by for my review and for a teatime treat. I hope your summer will begin with a bit of relaxing time and a good story. Do you have a book you’re looking forward to reading this summer?

With blessings and prayers,

Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation.

#Teatime review of Searching for Home by @JillWeatherholt

Monday, January 3rd, 2022

Welcome to my #Teatime review of Jill Weatherholt’s latest Love Inspired romance! If you’re looking for an uplifting story to start 2022, this book is a great choice. Isn’t the cover featuring adorable triplets absolutely charming?

Searching for Home by Jill Weatherholt

ABOUT SEARCHING FOR HOME

Can three little matchmakers lasso a cowboy father?

When injured professional bull rider Luke Beckett returns to his hometown to recover, he doesn’t expect his B and B host and physical therapist to be his first and only love, Meg Brennan. He’s also unprepared for Meg’s Ada or able triplets to steal his heart. Luke’s past has him doubting he’s good enough for Meg and the children, but they might be just what the doctor ordered to help him heal…..

MY REVIEW

An absolutely enthralling story! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

When you pick up Searching for Home, be prepared for a delightful romance as three adorable little matchmakers fill your heart!

“Cowboy Luke” Beckett, a successful rodeo star, returns to his home town of Whispering Slopes to recover from an injury. His physical therapist turns out to be his former girlfriend, Meg Brennan, who recently returned to town to care for her sister’s triplets and a failing bed and breakfast lodge. 

With both suffering from past abandonment issues…physical and emotional….the couple truly wants to provide stability for the three hurting children. But issues of trust and understanding cloud Meg and Luke’s perceptions of their future together. With the cute encouragement of the little matchmakers, the romance slowly develops.

I always find small town stories so warm and comforting. Whispering Slopes is this kind of community. “The people in this town were like one big family. They were the most loving and caring folks she’d ever known.” Author Jill Weatherholt creates characters I want to stroll with down the charming main street, stopping at a shop for hot tea, sweet scones and a friendly chat.

And this romance!!! *sigh* Two people disillusioned about family and love, but still filled with compassion toward others who need help. Love and faith shine throughout the pages. I especially liked the ideas the little ones developed to bring the couple together. The bed and breakfast setting…and the plans involving the inn…..are charming. Then there is the PERFECT ending! Page by page, I was absolutely enthralled with this uplifting story!

Favorite quotes: 

“Why don’t we just focus on having a good time today and not worry about what the future might bring?”

“Sometimes God has His own plan for our life. We might not always agree or understand, but we have to trust Him and His timing. He always knows what’s best for us.”

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m delighted to offer my honest opinion.

Now for a teatime treat. Wouldn’t triple chocolate cookies be perfect with a book featuring triplets? I’m serving mint tea or perhaps you’d prefer warm cocoa with these chocolate cookies.

Tea (or cocoa) and triple chocolate cookies!

Thank you for stopping by for this review post. I hope your Christmas was filled with joy and the New Year ahead is filled with great books! What are you most anticipating in 2022?

With prayers and blessings, Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation. I apologize for delays in posting.

Welcome to my #Teatime review of The Cowgirl’s Sacrifice by Tina Radcliffe!

Tuesday, July 27th, 2021

I’m so pleased you’ve joined us to talk about Tina Radcliffe’s newest release. Tina’s books are ALWAYS fun and inspirational. The Cowgirl’s Sacrifice is all this and more. Kate will grab your heart as you get to know her self-sacrificing spirit. I hope you love this story as much as I did. Please have an apple fritter from Eagle Donuts and a mug of coffee or a cup of tea.

ABOUT THE COWGIRL’S SACRIFICE

Making new dreams is never easy.

This cowgirl has wandered back home…Will she choose her past or her future?

Needing time to heal after a rodeo injury, Kate Rainbolt heads to her family ranch to accept the foreman job her brothers offered her months ago. But the position’s already been filled by her ex-boyfriend, Jess McNally, and the only open job reports to him. With Jess as her temporary boss—and turning into something more—might he finally convince Kate to put down roots?

MY REVIEW

Kate Rainbolt’s much-anticipated story is an absolute winner!

I love the Rainbolt brothers featured in the earlier Hearts of Oklahoma books, and author Tina Radcliffe’s last story in the series, The Cowgirl’s Sacrifice, was worth the wait! We finally get sister Kate’s romance! With intertwined pasts, a handsome cowboy and a wandering cowgirl must overcome complex issues to find grace and follow their hearts for a second chance at a happily-ever-after ending. A complete delight to read! 

Sheltered by protective older brothers, Kate Rainbolt took a courageous and unusual path to become a rodeo clown. When a traumatic accident temporarily sidelines her, Kate heads home hoping to recuperate while working at the family ranch.

After his estranged father’s death, Jess McNally returns to Oklahoma to be near his ailing mother. Employed as ranch foreman for Kate’s brothers, Jess McNally is conflicted when he becomes their sister’s boss. Years ago, he had plans to marry Kate, but she left him behind to pursue other dreams.

Tina Radcliffe’s books are always entertaining, filled with humor, touching characters and sweet romance. However, this return visit to Rebel Ranch in Oklahoma, provides an even higher level of enjoyment. My heart was warmed at Kate’s empathy for Jess’ niece, Olive, who shares a similar painful childhood. Kate’s compassionate and faith-filled personality shines throughout the book. I enjoyed her journey to a new beginning and truly admired her selfless gift of sacrificial love.

And of course there is food involved! We get virtual apple fritters from Eagle Donuts, a special cupcake from Daisy’s Pies and Baked Goods, and in this story, sweet nine-year-old Olive gives Kate cooking lessons, proving we all can learn if we have the right encouragement. (Recipes included on Tina Radcliffe’s webpage!) I highly recommend this latest story by one of my favorite authors.

Favorite quotes: 

“I guess anything beautiful comes with risks.”

After ten years as a tumbleweed, could she put down roots forever?

“This isn’t about paying a debt, “ Kate said. “This is about how sometimes you just know you’re on the correct path.”

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a positive review. I’m pleased to offer my honest opinion.

SCRIPTURE

Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ. ~~Philippians 1:6

The Cowgirl’s Sacrifice by Tina Radcliffe

Thank you for joining me for tea, apple fritters and my thoughts about Tina Radcliffe’s final book in The Hearts of Oklahoma series. I’ve enjoyed all the stories about the fascinating Rainbolt siblings, so it’s hard to say goodbye to Rebel Ranch, but I know this author has more heart-touching books to come. Tina Radcliffe is the queen of witty cowboy romance! If you want more information about Tina…..and recipes for the foods mentioned in the book, check out her website www.TinaRadcliffe.com.

What about you? Do you like the touches authors add to their stories…..foods, pets and kids? I hope you are having an inspired summer with good books, restful retreats and treasured moments.

With blessings and prayers,

Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation. I apologize for delays in posting.

Welcome to my #TeaTime double review of Tina Radcliffe’s His Holiday Prayer and The Deeds of The Deceitful!

Tuesday, December 1st, 2020

I’m delighted you’ve join me for tea and chatting about TWO books by Tina Radcliffe, one of my favorite authors. His Holiday Prayer is a December release by Harlequin’s Love Inspired contemporary romance line. Just look at the festive cover which sparkles with holiday charm! The Deeds of The Deceitful is a cozy mystery, co-authored with Ellery Adams. With our tea, I’m serving Chocolate Spice Balls, one of the recipes included with the mystery book.

His Holiday Prayer by Tina Radcliffe

MY REVIEWS

His Holiday Prayer
What a sparkling Christmas romance….a “just friends” to a perfect happily-ever-after story!

Widower and father of darling twin daughters, Tucker Rainbolt has been friends with compassionate Jena Harper for a long time. They went to college together, then partnered to establish a veterinary practice in Rebel, Oklahoma. Thinking he needs a change, Tucker decides to relocate to Texas and accept a university faculty position. However, sometimes making different plans allows us to see our current situation more clearly. With Jena and Tucker, it’s fun to watch their friendship evolve through self-awareness and tender feelings, finally realizing where their hearts truly belong.

Beyond the romance, I especially loved the realistic family dynamics. Strong bonds highlight the camaraderie of family relationships….established families, beginning families, and discovered families. The Rainbolt siblings tease and joke, but unconditional love for each other provides strength through difficult times, shared joy during celebrations, and encouragement to meet the challenges of life. I’m already anticipating the next Rainbolt book featuring sister Kate!

Author Tina Radcliffe writes with humor and touches of faith as she gives readers a warm-the-heart story, filled with Christmas delights (Jingle Paws fundraiser!) and festive treats (pumpkin roll, cherry tarts, peppermint bark, anyone?). If you want to read a feel-good holiday romance, I highly recommend His Holiday Prayer!

Favorite quotes:
“We accept His forgiveness and move on. Isn’t God’s grace sufficient? He forgave you. When are you going to forgive yourself?”

“We all need a Mrs. Stewart in our life.” 🙂

*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m pleased to offer my honest opinion.

The Deeds of The Deceitful by Ellery Adams and Tina Radcliffe

The Deeds of The Deceitful
An engaging cozy mystery!

Deeds of the Deceitful is such fun to read. Not only is there an intriguing crime to solve, but there is a hint of romance and a virtual trip to the charming Atwood Inn near Richmond, Virginia.

I completely enjoyed the assortment of amateur sleuths who meet as the Sunrise Bible Study group, but also get involved in solving local mysteries. With a suspicious death, a missing painting, and a cast of possible suspects, I was fascinated with trying to figure out this “who done it.” Since I’m a foodie, the details involving a couple of chefs and a baker….plus all the goodies from Magnolia’s Marvels….were a delight. (Recipes included!)

This is the first time I’ve read a selection from the Hope Street Church Mysteries series, so I can definitely say this book is a stand alone…and I want to read the others. With great details and an interesting investigation, I highly recommend Deeds of the Deceitful to all cozy mystery genre enthusiasts!

Favorite quotes:
“This is like putting together a jigsaw puzzle when the dog ate a few pieces.”
“My grandmother always says that the only thing bigger than our problems is the Lord.”

Christmas tea with Chocolate Spice Balls

TEA AND TREATS

This time of year, it’s fun to being out my Christmas dinnerware, given to me many years ago by a dear friend. I’m serving Chocolate Spice Balls with your choice of Constant Comment tea or a peppermint herbal blend, both varieties go well with the cookies. The recipe is included at the end of The Deeds of The Deceitful.

ABOUT TINA RADCLIFFE

Tina Radcliffe has been dreaming and scribbling for years. Originally from Western NY, she left home for a tour of duty with the Army Security Agency stationed in Augsburg, Germany, and ended up in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Her past careers include Certified Oncology R.N. and library cataloger. 

Tina is a two-time RWA Golden Heart finalist and a four-time Carol Award finalist and three-time ACFW Mentor of the Year finalist. A 2014 ACFW Carol Award winner and a 2018 ACFW Mentor of the Year winner, Tina is also on the RWA and ACFW Honor Roll of Best-Selling Authors. In 2019 she won the Holt Medallion for Christmas with the Cowboy. A short story writer, she has sold over three dozen short stories to Woman’s World Magazine.

You can sign up for Tina’s newsletter and learn more about her books at http://www.tinaradcliffe.com (And she posts recipes on her blog!)

You’re invited to my #TeaTime review of Grave Christmas Secrets by Sharee Stover!

Thursday, November 5th, 2020
Grave Christmas Secrets by Sharee Stover

I’m delighted to share this review of my friend’s newest Love Inspired Suspense book. Sharee Stover has written another thrilling and romantic story! Please join me for tea and raspberry kolaches as we discuss this fascinating book.

Treats: raspberry kolaches as featured in Grave Christmas Secrets

MY REVIEW

Page-turning excitement! I suggest you read Grave Christmas Secrets with bright lights turned on!

Author Sharee Stover has written another amazing romantic suspense! The pages fly, the excitement builds, and the romance entices. The heart-hammering action starts right at the beginning…..and DOES NOT STOP until the end!

Right from the opening scene, forensic anthropologist Dr. Taya McGill’s life is threatened. She’s alone at a remote site when she uncovers evidence of a crime. Undercover ATF agent Keegan Stryker is trying to hide his identity from ruthless criminals, but feels compelled to help this intriguing woman escape from these desperate killers.

I liked the intensifying chase scenes, the escalating danger, and the constant threats hidden everywhere. Those surprising moments gave me chills. Trying to figure out the true villains kept me guessing. And Keegan! What a hero! A brave, compassionate man who is called to protect others. Sigh

Did I mention I’m now hungry for kolaches? Raspberry, anyone? Every story needs a good bakery. 🙂

Author Sharee Stover is a favorite author. I’m delighted she has written another thrilling romantic suspense. If you like non-stop action with sweet falling-in-love moments, you won’t be disappointed in Grave Christmas Secrets…..a heart-pounding, exciting novel!

Favorite quote: “Your comment coincides with something I recently read in my Bible study about thinking on good, worthy things.” “Philippians 4:8?”

*I received a copy of this book with no requirement to write a positive review. I’m offering my honest opinion.

TEA AND TREATS

Sharee recently mentioned she likes to include food items in her writings. In this story, the Taya and Keegan visit a small bakery and sample raspberry and prune kolaches. Well, of course I developed a craving for these treats. Most recipes are based on a yeast dough, but I found this very easy version with the pastry made from cream cheese, butter, and flour. I hope you enjoy this simple delight as much as Keegan and Taya did in the story. And wouldn’t these be pretty for Christmas?

Easy Jam Kolaches

Hers is a recipe for kolaches…..easy and a variety of jams can be used.

https://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/jam-kolache/a46faf5d-ce56-49c0-8d44-d5e1335fcbf0

ABOUT AUTHOR SHAREE STOVER

Colorado native, Sharee Stover, lives in Nebraska with her real-life-hero husband, three too-good-to-be-true children, and a ridiculously spoiled dog. A self-proclaimed word nerd, she loves the power of the written word to ignite, transform, and restore. She writes Christian romantic suspense combining heart-racing, nail-biting suspense and the delight of falling in love all in one. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Sisters in Crime. Sharee is a three-time Daphne du Maurier finalist, winner of the 2017 Wisconsin Fabulous Five Silver Quill Award, and winner of the 2019 National Excellence in Romance Fiction Awards for Best First Book. When she isn’t writing, Sharee enjoys reading, crocheting and long walks with her obnoxiously lovable German Shepherd. Visit her at www.shareestover.com. You can sign up for her newsletter and order all her books from her website.

BIBLE VERSE

For thou art my lamp, O Lord: and the Lord will lighten my darkness.

~~2 Samuel 22:29

Grave Christmas Secrets by Sharee Stover

Thank you for joining me for tea, treats, and my review. May your November be filled with gratitude.

With blessings and prayers,

Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation. I apologize for delays in posting.

A #Teatime review of A HOME FOR HER DAUGHTER by Jill Weatherholt

Thursday, August 27th, 2020
A teatime celebration for A HOME FOR HER DAUGHTER.

Welcome to my #Teatime celebration of Jill Weatherholt’s newest inspirational romance, A Home for Her Daughter. Jill is a special friend and an amazing author. I’m thrilled to chat with you about this sweet contemporary story.

ABOUT A HOME FOR HER DAUGHTER

To give her daughter a brighter future, she must leave the past behind.

Inheriting a house, money and a camp is the fresh start Janie Edmiston has been praying for. But the will stipulates Janie must work with her childhood friend—and crush—Drew Brenner, to get the camp running…or lose it all. The newly divorced mother and the widower aren’t looking for love, but sometimes it takes a child to show two broken hearts the way forward…together.

MY REVIEW

I was immediately drawn into this story and couldn’t stop reading!

An uplifting book about two people dealing with past hurts and helping each other find happiness! What adventures are ahead for Janie and Drew as they work together to save a childhood camp and try to heal from difficult pasts.

Divorced single mom Janie Edmiston returns to Whispering Slopes, Virginia, with her charming daughter. She learns she has inherited a summer camp from a dear friend, but the lady’s will comes with conditions. She and her former close friend, Drew Brenner, must work together to restore and open Rocky River Camp by July 4, or neither will be left anything. Working so closely with a woman he was once attracted to is a concern for park ranger Drew. He prefers his solitary life on the trail after a devastating loss.

The hurtful situation Janie needed to recovery from and the terrible guilt Drew carried were difficult…almost impossible…obstacles to overcome, but through trusting in faith, support from their small town community and the desire to establish a home for precious little Riley, a sweet romance develops between this couple. I was completely engaged with this story. I highly recommend A Home for Her Daughter to those seeking an uplifting story of overcoming challenges to reach special dreams ….and a beautiful happily ever after. Joy can be just beyond life’s difficult times!

Favorite quote: “There’s nothing sweeter than a child who speaks from the heart.”

*I received a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m pleased to offer my honest opinion.

Author Jill Weatherholt

ABOUT JILL WEATHERHOLT

This is Jill’s fourth Love Inspired contemporary romance, each filled with heart-touching inspiration and a sweet happily ever after. I’ve come to know Jill through her stories and interactions on her blog. She is an amazing friend….and a hummingbird enthusiast! You should see her “hummie” photos! To learn more about Jill….and to see those energetic hummingbirds….visit her website: www.jillweatherholt.com

TEA AND TREATS

I’m serving Sparkling Lavender Sugar Shortbread cookies for our celebration, along with Lavender Lemon Gunpowder tea from New Mexico Tea Company. The violet tea pot was a gift from my mother, hand painted by a friend of hers. The reason I’m featuring lavender? Lavender is the favorite color of little Riley, Janie’s daughter. So let’s celebrate a lovely day and a good book!

Sparkling Lavender Sugar Shortbread Cookies

RECIPE FOR SPARKLING LAVENDER SUGAR SHORTBREAD COOKIES

In a food processor, blend together 1-1/4 cups flour and 3 Tablespoons sugar. Add 1/2 cup butter, cut into pieces. Pulse until combined. The mixture will be crumbly. Turn out onto a cutting board. Sprinkle in 1 to 2 Tablespoons lavender-colored sparkling sugar. (I bought the lavender sugar from the Queen Mary Tea Shop in Seattle, Washington….my favorite place to celebrate with afternoon tea. To match a theme, you can use any color of decorator/course sugar. You could add a little flavoring, perhaps to go with the color….yellow course sugar with lemon extract would be good.) Knead together to disperse sugar. Flatten dough into a 5” x 8” rectangle about 1/2 inch thick. Top with more colored sugar, if desired, patting in gently to stick to the dough. Put in the dough in a freezer for 15 minutes. Remove from the freezer and cut into 1 inch square cookies. Place each on a cookie sheet. Bake in a preheated 325 degree oven for about 15 minutes, watching carefully so the cookies don’t brown. Take them out of the oven and cool on the pan until set.

BIBLE SCRIPTURE

A man’s heart deviseth his way: but the Lord directeth his steps. ~~Proverbs 16:9

Thank you for joining the release celebration for A Home for Her Daughter…..a hopeful story of trusting God during difficult times. I pray you feel close to our Lord when you are faced with life’s challenges.

With blessings and prayers,

Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation. I apologize for delays in posting.

#TuesdayTea Review of READY TO TRUST by Tina Radcliffe

Tuesday, August 4th, 2020

Meet Reece Rainbolt! What a hero! I’m so pleased you’ve stopped by to meet Reece and enjoy tea with Peachy Ginger Scones while we chat about Ready to Trust, the second book in Tina Radcliffe’s Hearts of Oklahoma series.

READY TO TRUST by Tina Radcliffe

ABOUT THE BOOK

Proving he’s a changed man could be his biggest challenge yet.

Rancher Reece Rainbolt’s shocked to learn he’s inherited half of Claire Ballard’s family farm—and that he’s a father. Now Claire’s determined to break ties with the man who once left her behind. But Reece will buy her half only on one condition: she must stay in town to help with the harvest…and let him get to know his little girl.

MY THOUGHTS

Reece Rainbolt of Rebel Ranch…..what a HERO!

Well….I don’t usually like bad boy heroes, but for Reece Rainbolt, I’m making an exception. Why my change of heart? Reece is the epitome of a self-sacrificing man, though still a bit stubborn. He’s learned from past mistakes and now does his best to live a faithful life as he helps his family and community. Plus he’s a gorgeous blue-eyed rancher! Did you see that cover?

I admired strong-willed single mom Claire Ballard. After inheriting half her father’s peach orchard, she has an overloaded plate of responsibilities. She stubbornly tries to handle everything by herself, including raising her adorable daughter, Zoe, who happens to look a lot like Reece.

Hmmm….can two hard-headed personalities reconcile their past mistakes and learn to trust each other? With the best interests of the precious five-year-old child at stake, this second chance couple provide a fun, humorous and touching path to a happily ever after. Of course they have some help along way as the small town folks add encouraging observations. I hope you like wise old ranch hand Willard Cornell as much as I do. He nudges his boss in the right direction with delightful quips.

I love every book by author Tina Radcliffe, but Ready to Trust is the best yet. If reading a story can convince me to forgive the wild guy hero, that’s a great romance! If you love amazing heroes, small town communities and heart-tugging romance, I recommend you put Ready to Trust (and heartthrob Reece) at the top of your TBR stack.

*I received a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m delighted to offer my honest opinion.

TEA AND TREATS

Teatime-Peachy Ginger Scones and peach tea with Reece Rainbolt
Peachy Ginger Scones with Reece Rainbolt!

Since Reece and Claire are busy with the peach harvest in this story, Peachy Ginger Scones are the perfect accompaniment to this summer book. Of course we need tea, so a delightful, refreshing peach flavored tea is just right. Iced or hot?

RECIPE FOR PEACHY GINGER SCONES

Mix 1 cup of flour, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 scant teaspoons baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Cut in 1/4 cup cold butter until mixture is crumbly.

Add 1/4 cup heavy cream, 1 small egg and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Mix until just combined. Gently stir in 2 tablespoon chopped crystallized candied ginger and 1/4 cup chopped fresh peaches (no need to peel the fruit.).

Transfer dough to a floured surface and gently form into a disk about 1/2 inch thick. Cut into six triangular pieces. Place the scones on a baking sheet. (I like to use parchment paper.) If desired, sprinkle the scones with sparkling sugar.

Bake at 400 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes until golden brown. Serve with peach preserves for extra peachy goodness.

These scones make a great base for peach shortcake, just split the scones, add sliced fresh peaches and top with whipped cream. Ahhh, a taste of summer!

Peaches, Peachy Ginger Scones and Reece Rainbolt of READY TO TRUST

ABOUT AUTHOR TINA RADCLIFFE

Tina is an award-winning author of many inspirational romance books…each filled with warmth and faith. To learn more about author Tina Radcliffe and her newest series, Hearts of Oklahoma, visit her website-www.TinaRadcliffe.com. If you’re craving peaches, check out the many recipes included on her webpage.

BIBLE SCRIPTURE

It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. ~~Lamentations 3:22-23

Do you have any favorite summertime treats? I always binge on sweet cherries and must fix peach cobbler at least once. I’d love to hear your thoughts! My posting of your comments may be delayed. My apologies! I will respond as soon as possible.


Thank you for joining me for a tea celebration of READY TO TRUST. I pray you find a bit of time to relax and refresh during the month of August while reading a good book. May God be with you this summer as you treasure the blessings you hold dear.

With prayers of comfort, health and strength for you,

Sherida

*Comments are appreciated and will be visible after moderation. I apologize for delays in posting.

#ThursdayTea review of Silent Night Suspect by Sharee Stover

Thursday, December 5th, 2019

Welcome to my review of Sharee Stover’s newest release, Silent Night Suspect. Sharee is one of my Writing Sisters, so I’m especially delighted to feature her December Love Inspired Suspense book today. Doesn’t this cover…. with it’s isolated cabin in the forest….. intrigue you?

Silent Night Suspect by Sharee Stover

ABOUT SILENT NIGHT SUSPECT

Suspected of a crime she knows she didn’t commit… All she wants for Christmas is to remember. Blood on her blouse. A gun in her hand. A cartel leader’s dead body in front of her. Widow Asia Stratton can’t remember what happened—just that she’s been framed. The only way to prove her innocence is to work with her ex-sweetheart, Nebraska state trooper Slade Jackson. But can they clear her name before this Christmas turns even deadlier? (Romantic Suspense from Love Inspired [Harlequin])

MY REVIEW

WOW! The heart-racing action…and danger…never stop in this exciting romantic suspense!

Right from the start, widow Asia Stratton is in jeopardy….and sitting in the middle of a crime scene. Then her ex-boyfriend, Nebraska State Trooper Slade Jackson, arrives. The question is, will he protect her or arrest her?

The action in this dramatic romance is truly nonstop as the couple desperately search for safety. They confront twists and turns around every corner. Having lost everything, Asia feels she is on her own to exonerate herself after what has happened. Trooper Slade battles remorse over how his past decisions have hurt Asia. He is torn between his feelings and his promises.

These characters are intriguing! With his strong protective instincts and self-sacrificing attitude, Slade is my kind of hero! He has cared for Asia since they were children. Now he hopes to make amends for his past decisions. Asia is strong, but emotionally hurting. Her predicament feels real as she struggles to understand the situation she finds herself in. While Slade and Asia piece together clues to the crime, their attraction to each other develops. Can they find a way to trust each other as suspicions swirl around them? This author’s powerful writing keeps us guessing…and rapidly turning the pages!

Author Sharee Stover is definitely on my must-read list. If you enjoy fast-paced, second chance romances, this will be high on your TBR pile. Great characters and non-stop action propel this exciting love story to a stunning conclusion!

Favorite quote: “I can honestly say many of my hardships have bloomed into blessings.”

*I received a copy of this book with no requirement to write a positive review. I’m pleased to offer my honest opinion about this story.

TEA TREATS

In Silent Night Suspect, Asia and Slade have a favorite treat….cinnamon rolls from both Muffin Man Bakery and Meadow Hills Bakery. Do you have a favorite cinnamon roll? I love any variety from bake-from-the-can biscuit types to gooey-syrupy deliciousness from a cafe. However, to enjoy my favorite one, we must drive to 5 hours to Tamarisk Restaurant in Green River, Utah, where they serve an ENORMOUS cinnamon roll topped with a generous portion of cream cheese frosting. Mmmmmm! So in honor of Sharee’s newest release, I’m serving these delicious treats…with your choice of a cup of tea or a mug of coffee.

The amazing cream cheese frosted cinnamon rolls served at the Tamarisk Restaurant in Green River, Utah.

SCRIPTURE

“What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.” 
~~Psalm 56:3

ABOUT SHAREE STOVER

Colorado native Sharee Stover lives in Nebraska with her real-life-hero husband, three too-good-to-be-true children, and two ridiculously spoiled dogs. A self-proclaimed word nerd, she loves the power of the written word to transform, ignite and restore. She writes Christian romantic suspense combining heart-racing, nail-biting suspense and the delight of falling in love all in one. When she isn’t writing, Sharee enjoys reading, crocheting and long walks with her obnoxiously lovable German Shepherd. Visit Sharee at https://www.shareestover.com

Thank you for joining me for cinnamon rolls and my review of Silent Night Suspect. I wish you a sweet holiday season filled with treats!

With blessings and prayers always,
Sherida
*Comments are appreciated and will appear after moderation. I apologize for delays in posting.
%d bloggers like this: